🌹Bobo’s Book Club! March’s Read: These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong + Read My Review of The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune!🌹

photostudio_1611932572118

 

Hey y’all…Happy March!🍀

I’m determined to make this year GREAT (or at least BETTER than last year)! One of my intentions for 2021 is to push my boundaries by trying new things not only for my blog but for me. My son, Thing 2 and I have been throwing around the idea of a book club so I thought, “Why not?” I’ll start a BOOK CLUB and ta-da! Bobo’s Book Club was born!

Now please bear with me while I figure out how do to this thing! I created the club through Amazon and it seems pretty straightforward but we’ll see as we go along. You don’t have to join in order to read along but we’d love to have you if you’re interested.

Here’s What To Do:

* Go to Bobo’s Book Club or follow this link:

https://www.amazon.com/amazonbookclubs/dl/invite/2vvMkG0

* The book we will be reading will be posted at the start of each month. At the end of that month, I will post my review of the book. If you’d like me to include a quote from your thoughts and/or review please contact me! 

* If you prefer not to, simply post a short review and/or star rating on Amazon and/or Goodreads. Reviews are NOT mandatory but I think it’d be appreciated!

* Books can be any format you choose: physical, ebook or audio.

* You can purchase the book at any retailer you choose.

HAVE FUN!

 

photostudio_1614931024444

“What was your initial reaction to the book? Did it hook you immediately, or take some time to get into?”

“Do you think the story was plot-based or character driven?”

“What was your favorite quote/passage?”

“What made the setting unique or important? Could the story have taken place anywhere?”

“Did you pick out any themes throughout the book?”

“How did the characters change throughout the story? How did your opinion of them change?”

“Did the book change your opinion or perspective about anything? Do you feel different now than you did before you read it?”

https://www.bustle.com

 

photostudio_1614929239527

These Violent Delights Kindle Edition by Chloe Gong

An Instant New York Times Bestseller!
BuzzFeed Best Young Adult Book of 2020

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Serpent & Dove, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

 

photostudio_1556399593071-1photostudio_1611937093024

 

The House in the Cerulean SeaThe House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The House in the Cerulean Sea is a sweet, fantasy standalone. I’m proudly placing it on my Best of 2021 shelf!

Linus Baker works for the Department in Charge of Magical Youth (DICOMY). His life is boring, staid, stuck in routine. That is until he’s called on to investigate an orphanage run by Arthur Parnassus and the six children he’s in charge of.

First, let me explain that this IS a story about love but the plot isn’t entirely a love story. Did I confuse you?!? Yes, Linus and Arthur are the heroes who fall in love but that’s really just the side story. These two find a beautiful connection because of six precocious, fantastical, wondrous, UNIQUE kids that I absolutely adored! Now, usually, I’m all about a swexy romance…that’s my preferred genre. But in this case, I could not get enough of the kids and their relationship to Arthur, Linus and the island’s caretaker, a sprite named Zoe. I have to say a bit about them!

* Chauncey: an unknown species, he dreams of becoming a bell hop
* Talia: a female gnome, she loves her garden
* Phee: a forest sprite, she can grow flowers and plants at will
* Lucy: the “Anti-Christ”, he’s a little prankster
* Sal: he can change into a Pomeranian, he tugged at my heartstrings with his backstory
* Theodore: a wyvern who hasn’t quite grown into his wings

It’s been a loooong time since I last wrote a book report and truly dissected a book but I do want to point out the message that is SO very important and relevant: We are all different but our differences should be celebrated, not hidden or snuffed! And kudos to T.J. Klune for using color (or lack of) to create such a magical tapestry! I highlighted a lot of passages in this book that said so much in a few simple words.

I found myself on a roller coaster of emotions… laughing, or gaping in awe or swooning or mad as hell. It was GREAT, I love it when an author can pull so many feelings from me! I loved everything about this book, from the cover to the magical characters to the underlying message.

This was my second book by this author but it won’t be my last! Definitely worthy of another read! Told from Linus’ POV with a sweet, endearing end. I voluntarily read and reviewed this book.

View all my reviews

photostudio_1609743857186

*Review Quote From Sophie @BewareoftheReader

Enchanting.

That’s the best word to describe this story.

You know when, once in many years, you stumble upon a book and everything just …clicks? Well that was what happened in this read that was a book club read.

These characters were so moving, charming, cute, awkward and heart-warming. I wanted to take them in my arms and give them big hugs!

Under that lovely surface also hide deep messages about differences, what makes a monster, acceptance, not being defined by our DNA, making our own choices to be good and …so much more!

This book is magical, charming, poetic …. I don’t have enough words to describe its awesomeness!

 

*Review Quote From  Caro @cjrthebrit

A magical island. A dangerous task. A burning secret.’

I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like this before. And it was so good!
It was funny, jaunty, gives you warm fuzziness and I just totally lost myself in this world.
Fully uptight Linus goes to do his job and write a report on some magical children looked after on an island and totally loses himself too.
The magical children were adorable because they were just that. Kids. Linus made me laugh with his love of being at home in his pjs (can quite understand that!) and Arthur is a saint in the skin of a man.
Every word, sentence and paragraph was just so delightful and extraordinary. Total 5 star read and now I know I need to read more from this author.


photostudio_1556399807645-1

Amazon US: The House in the Cerulean Sea Kindle Edition by TJ Klune

Have you read this book? It’s highly recommended! Have a fantastical day y’all!💜

photostudio_1531080784147-1

2 Comments

Comments are closed.